Favour 4 Broken People

Random thoughts…

I don’t share much about my personal life.  Like anyone, I am a broken person, living in a broken world.  Part of the reason I write is to prophesy to myself, to declare the goodness of God, to stir up faith.

In the last twelve years I have seen seasons where a lot of favour seems to drop on a group of people in a short time.  I love those times.  But mostly it’s not like that, the seasons of favour are mixed in with seasons of… whatever.

In recent weeks, a dude came along to our men’s group for a couple of weeks with his two-year-old son.  He was struggling with life, we prayed with him, gave him some cash, etc.  A few days later he murdered his ex-partner.  Yes, murder.  Both the victim & the offender had attended church on and off over several years, a Sunday night mission that feeds the homeless.

This past Sunday night, my wife & I were enjoying a meal at the same mission.  A friend points to a small picture on the wall & says that’s my sister.  She died in the shower during a heroin trip.  She was 19.

I am a broken person, & I live in a broken world.  But I know what to do…  I continue to declare the goodness of God by my words & deeds.  The favour he has made available for every person is just mind blowing.

But I also know what I am not doing…  I am not creating a happy-church-bubble that insulates me from the world.  I just can’t handle the staleness of spirit that goes with that.  See, the favour that God has provided to us is actually designed for broken people.  Blessed are the poor in spirit.  So if we lock that favour up in a happy-church-bubble, then we are missing out on seeing the best part… seeing what happens when that favour lands on broken people.

Btw… those mission gatherings, it’s not all pain, there is also a lot of joy.  Just last Sunday night, one homeless person shared a story of answered prayers during the previous week, prayers that seemed impossible.  He got a taste of Daddy God.  I was a bit teary-eyed cos I was one of several that had prayed with him the previous week.

That’s my two cents worth for today…

About kiwi in perth

god is good. :) really really good. my name is al; god called me to leadership & this is my journey.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

feel free to comment… even if you disagree!

