Give me this mountain!

i love this, the ‘bragging faith’ of Caleb in Josh 14…

“Just as the LORD promised, he has kept me alive for forty-five years … so here I am today, eighty-five years old!” (10a).”I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then” (11).

“Now give me this hill country (NIV; KJV “mountain”) that the LORD promised me that day” (12a).

“You yourself heard then that the Anakites were there and their cities were large and fortified, but the LORD helping me, I will drive them out just as he said” (12b).

Notice that in three out of the four statements in this section, he mentions the name of Yahweh. “The LORD promised… The LORD promised… the LORD helping me.” Here is a man who has learned to trust in the promises of God and stake his whole future on them. He knows what it is like to have the LORD help him, and he is trusting that the LORD will continue to do so. This is exultant, powerful faith prior to the event. It sounds like bragging, but it is faith bragging on the power of God to keep his promises. I like that kind of faith!

via Joshua 14:6-15; 15:13-19. Give Me This Mountain!.

that’s just a great word!  thanks to Ralph F. Wilson at jesuswalk.com.

About kiwi in perth

god is good. :) really really good. my name is al; god called me to leadership & this is my journey.
This entry was posted in Like and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

feel free to comment… even if you disagree!

