Graham Cooke on “Doing Church”

an oldie but a goodie…

Graham says that church revolves around 3 types of people: Initiators, Enablers and Resisters. He skillfully describes if churches want to succeed, they must learn about each group and explains that leaders who have any hopes of accomplishing anything in church, must understand how each people group works and learn what motivates, inspires and drives them.

via Graham Cooke on “Doing Church” in America « Church « Spiritually Led.

here’s some more notes…

Every church has three types of people groups in it

There are those who make things happen

Those who help to make things happen

& Those who never know what’s happening.

You have initiators, you have enablers, & you have resistors.

Every church has those three people groups in it.

Initiators are breakthrough people.  They are either actual leaders or ministries, or potential.  They’re people who need fathering, they need discipling, they need developing.  Quite often they’re frustrated, they’re asking hard questions, they’re not easy people to be with

I’m not an easy person to be with, I have no intentions of being.  I have a difficult personality.  I’m developing my character, but my personality is a bit spiky.  I don’t like mediocrity.  I like excellence.

I try to be as nice as possible about it, but I’m putting my foot down here.  I want something excellent here; I don’t want something mediocre.  So I’m quite difficult in that regard.

So, if I encounter any kind of religious spirit, I want to kill it straight off.

There’s a difference between character & personality.  In my personality, I’m not going to settle for anything less than I believe what god deserves

So, for me, frustrations are a clue.  I do get frustrated… I love the church; I am absolutely passionate about the church.  But I get frustrated in church.

For me, your frustrations are a clue to something that god wants to do in you next.

So, initiators are not easy people to be with.

God, enable us to develop some warriors.  We’re all supposed to be soldiers, but we’re supposed to be developing warriors as well.  Warriors don’t settle for anything less than a complete victory

So we need to develop people who are unreasonable in terms of their perceptions & what they see about god, & what they go for.

Initiators are people who are prepared to pay a price.  They’re prepared to sacrifice.  They want to stand up & be counted about something.

They are not always easy people to be with, & they’re not supposed to be, because they are catalysts, they’re motivators.  They will get out there, they will fight.

So we need to know… If we’re going to turn the church around, we need to know, who are our initiators.  Because those are the people that we are supposed to be building on.

They’re the people that will actually be the spearhead into the next thing that god is calling us into.

About kiwi in perth

god is good. :) really really good. my name is al; god called me to leadership & this is my journey.
This entry was posted in Like and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

feel free to comment… even if you disagree!

