war child meets jesus

wow…

It is night and I have been asleep – dreaming, dreaming of bullets and helicopters, guns and fire.  I open my eyes as a bright light shines on me and lower my head to shield myself from its glare as fear fills me.  Suddenly a picture comes into my mind – people on a journey, following the light.  I feel afraid and curl up, wanting the light to fade.  It is taking all my strength as a feeling of shame sweeps over me.  I will not be able to follow the light.  I will go to hell.

‘Forgive me,’ I say inside my head.

Suddenly I stand up and, not knowing why, take a step forward. I see a man in front of me, wearing long robes whose bright colours burn into my eyes.  Two men, on either side, are with him.  Peace fills me as I see him and kneel.  He puts his hand on my head.

I bless you,’ a voice says in my mind.

‘In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit,’ I silently reply.

We repeat these words three times until the voice tells me: ‘Keep quiet.’

I am silent

I bless you in my name,’ it says.

Shoots of happiness spring up inside of me, reaching into my heart.

‘How am I going to live if you are not with me?’ I ask.

Everything you need was given to you in the beginning,’ Jesus tells me.

I look up.  I am alone again.

from War Child: A Boy Soldier’s Story: Emmanuel Jal.

where do i start?  my brain is numb after reading this book…

it is written in a very simple style, through the eyes of a child.  no dramatising.  no moralizing.  just tell the story like it is.  a very disturbing story.

pray for this young man.  he has a burden & a gift that i couldn’t imagine.  in a few short years many doors have opened, & he has a voice to the world.

to emmanuel…

The Lord bless you

and keep you

and make his face shine upon you

and give you peace  Num 6:24

About kiwi in perth

god is good. :) really really good. my name is al; god called me to leadership & this is my journey.
This entry was posted in Books, Like and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

feel free to comment… even if you disagree!

